top of page

Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021 announced

On the eve of Super Bowl LV, the National Football league announced its Hall of Fame induction class for 2021. It is an eight- member class. Without further ado, here are the well deserved honorees:

QB Peyton Manning

In his first year on the ballot, there was little doubt that Manning would make it in. When you think about the Colts and quarterbacks, you think of Manning and the legendary Johnny Unitas. Manning ranks highly in nearly every quarterback statistic and won two Super Bowls in his career. He was as close to a no-brainer selection as you can get.

WR Calvin Johnson

The hesitation people had with Johnson's eligibility wasn't about his talent but about the brevity of his career. While Megatron clearly demonstrated the dominance of a generational talent on the field, it is rare for such short careers to lead to first-ballot Hall of Fame induction--much less as a wide receiver. Johnson is only the seventh ever first-ballot Hall of Fame wide receiver in the history of the game, which speaks volumes to the player he was and how he is viewed throughout the league.

DB Charles Woodson

The 1997 Heisman Trophy winner had an illustrious NFL career with the Packers and Raiders. Woodson made nine Pro Bowls, three All-Pro teams, and won Defensive Player of the Year once. He won a Super Bowl title with the Packers before finishing his career in Oakland and is 5th all-time in interceptions.

WR Drew Pearson

One of the most notable Cowboys had to wait a while, but Pearson has finally been elected to the Hall. Pearson had an illustrious 11-year career in Dallas after going undrafted and was the recipient of the first ever Hail Mary. He was one of the best receivers of the 1970s and one of the best to wear a Cowboys' uniform.

G Alan Faneca

Offensive linemen don't get a lot of attention during their playing careers, but, in my opinion, Faneca was clearly one of the best to ever do it. Growing up, I always saw him singled out during games for the work he did on the o-line. He was one of the best offensive linemen of the early 2000s and made several All-Pro teams. He also blocked for many 1,000 yard rushers in Pittsburgh and later in his career with the Jets.

S John Lynch

You may know him now as the general manager of the San Francisco 49ers or even as a former NFL on Fox commentator, but John Lynch had a phenomenal pro career with Denver and Tampa. He was drafted by the Buccaneers in 1993 and became a huge part of the defensive core that helped Tampa win its first Super Bowl. He ended his career with the Broncos and was considered a top safety throughout his career. Lynch has been a Hall of Fame finalist for eight consecutive years and will finally take his place in Canton.

Bill Nunn

Nunn is one of the men responsible for building the Steelers' dynasty of the 1970s. He joined Pittsburgh as a scout after spending time as a sportswriter. With Nunn's help, the Steelers won four Super Bowl titles in six years and drafted several Hall of Famers and notable players. He absolutely deserves this spot in Canton.

Coach Tom Flores

Flores is a transcending figure who broke through racial barriers as the first minority coach to win a Super Bowl in 1980 with the Raiders. The team also won the 1983 Super Bowl during Flores's tenure. Under Flores, the Raiders of the 1980s made the playoffs five times. He also played 10 seasons as a quarterback in the old AFL.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page